An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
We issue exams and licenses for propane work and inspect liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) tanks and locations.
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 480.410 through 480.460
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280
On-the-job training requires the supervision of a licensed fitter or truck equipment operator. The 60 training days are work days. You must receive on-the-job training, pass the written license exam, and obtain the license by the end of the 60 days or stop doing liquefied petroleum gas work.
Company LicenseA one-year license is $130 and requires completing an exam.Each business site must:
Master Fitter LicenseA two-year license is $60.
Individuals who perform the following must obtain this license:
HVAC (Heating, Venting, and Air Conditioning) Fitter LicenseA two-year license is $60 and requires completion of exam.
Company ListEmployee List
Key to License Type
MF= Master FitterT= Truck Equip OperFH= HVAC FitterC= Company RepFI= IC FitterFR= RV Fitter
After creating an account, print and complete the LPG exam application. Mail the completed application and $55 fee to:
Office of State Fire MarshalRegulatory Services Division – LPG ProgramPO Box 4395 Unit 09Portland OR, 97208-4395
When our office receives the application and fee, the applicant will receive an email with detailed instructions about how to access the online exams.
Sample Questions Study materials may be used during the exam. Acceptable study materials include:
When the exam for the license requested is passed, the applicant must complete the application below and submit it to the Office of State Fire Marshal with the appropriate fee.
The applications and fees shown are for new companies, fitters, and truck equipment operator licenses only.
A $50 notice fee shall accompany each tank reported. If the total quantity of tanks reported at one site does not exceed 200 gallons, only one fee of $50 must be submitted, but each tank must be reported on a separate form.
Propane companies are required to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of all liquefied petroleum gas tank installations. The notification must be submitted no later than the last day of the month following the month of installation. Example: All tanks set in February must be reported no later than March 31. The notification must be postmarked with a U.S. postmark no later than the last day of the month, or a late fee is assessed. Each tank installed must be submitted on a separate LPG Tank Installation Notice Form.
If the liquefied petroleum gas tank was installed underground, an Underground LPG Tank Installation Worksheet must be submitted with the LPG Tank Installation Notice Form which provides detailed information on the installation of the underground tank.
A Notice of Installation of LPG Tank Summary Sheet must accompany the tank installation notices submitted for the month. Each tank installed shall be reported on an Office of State Fire Marshal LPG Tank Installation Notice Form.
Notice of Installation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Summary Sheet (PDF Fillable Form)Notice of Installation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Summary Sheet (PDF)Notice of Installation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Summary Sheet (Fillable Word Doc)Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Notice Form (PDF Fillable Form)Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Notice Form (PDF)Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Notice Form (Fillable Word Doc)Sample Map RequirementsUnderground Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Worksheet (Required for underground only)Notice of Installation of LPG Containers for Utilization as Motor Fuel
Tank installations are inspected to ensure tanks are properly installed to protect homeowners and businesses from unforeseen hazards to life and property, and to ensure the requirements of NFPA 58 (Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code), 2017 Edition, NFPA 54 (National Fuel Gas Code), 2009 Edition, and the Oregon Fire Code (OFC), 2019 Edition are met.
If a deficiency is identified during the inspection, a Notice and Order of Correction is issued to the company that installed the tank, providing an opportunity for the correction of the deficiency.
Once the company notifies the inspector the deficiency is corrected, the tank may be inspected to ensure compliance. Questions regarding the installation of a tank may be directed to the company who installed the tank or to the Office of State Fire Marshal at 503-934-8278.
Sites with bulk storage of propane may be inspected annually. Any changes to the bulk site, including but not limited to the installation of one or more additional tanks, removal of one or more tanks, and closure of the site shall be reported to the Office of State Fire Marshal in writing within two weeks of the change.
Any change or addition of any size tank to the bulk site shall require the submission of plans to the Technical Services Unit of the Office of State Fire Marshal.
You may contact the Technical Services Unit at 503-934-8204 or email@example.com.
Application to Install Liquefied Petroleum Gas Containers
Inspection fees are $45 per delivery unit inspected.
LP-Gas Tank (Container) ConcealmentLP-Gas Tank Foundation CriteriaNFPA 58 Standards Opinion
Is Your Propane Cylinder Safe? Check Out OPDsLiquefied Petroleum Gas and Consumer SafetyCommon Residential LPG Inspection ElementsLiquefied Petroleum Gas License Requirements Brochure
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how